jump to navigation

More Articles, Events, Memorial and Online Monument 25 January, 2010

Posted by Molly Joyful in Cuthbert Collingwood, Events, General, Interviews, Online articles.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

The Collingwood 2010 Festival is up to a good start; there’s a good number of articles available now, and more are very likely to follow.

So, what do we have for you today…

JOURNAL LIVE – MORPETH

talks about Collingwood, his achievements and about the upcoming events. And you can read about the

PLANNED COLLINGWOOD-MEMORIAL

“(…) A planning application has been lodged with Newcastle City Council for a derelict sloping site at the junction of Dog Bank and Broad Chare, near Trinity House. Artist Gordon Young has been commissioned to create the memorial and has come up with a concept of a towering ocean wave.The 35ft long and 15ft tall work will be made from steel in which would be set reconstituted coloured glass. (…)”

Means:

Let’s hope people will show some respect for a change and that this won’t turn out to be one big tag-magnet… There’s a fund-raising to realise this monument; please call the memorial fund on 0191 232 8226 for donations.

THE NORTHERN ECHO

has an article including some comments by Susan Collingwood-Cameron, Collingwood’s great-great-great niece. Those who’ve seen “Trafalgar’s Forgotten Hero” will very likely remember her.

And for those who can’t visit the Collingwood monument in Tynemouth in person,

VISIT THE COLLINGWOOD MONUMENT ONLINE

courtesy Britannica Online Encyclopedia. Bonus: no attacks by low-flying pigeons.

Last but not least – if Newcastle is too cold for you, why not visit Menorca?

CELEBRATIONS PLANNED

Special thanks to Volgi for sending in some of the links. Feel free to contribute as well, folks; I’m grateful for every tip.

Comments»

1. Jen - 30 January, 2010

I only just discovered that there are more pages to the second Journal live link – I’m getting quite excited about the exhibition. Now I just need to work out when to go, given that I seem to be running up and down to that area several times already…

Molly Joyful - 30 January, 2010

I was fooled first as well. There’s a multi-page report, each standing on its own. I keep my fingers crossed for you that you can see and attend as many events as possible. I’m currently very tempted to head for Menorca. Odd as it sounds, it would be easier for me to go to than Newcastle. :-/ So much to do, so little time. *sigh*

Jen - 31 January, 2010

I’m not sure just what I’ll manage that first weekend in March, because there doesn’t seem to be a definite timetable for anything yet, but I’ll report back :)

Menorca is definitely tempting – I’ve never been, and it has a lot of Aubreyad connections as well as Collingwood ones – but I’m kind of supposed to be in Newcastle that weekend *thinks*

2. David Simpson - 3 February, 2010

Hi – my name’s David Simpson and I’m looking after PR and publicity for the Collingwood 2010 Festival. Delighted to learn of your keen interest in the festival and I’d like to keep you posted about forthcoming events – can we add you to our distribution list for press releases and other info?

Molly Joyful - 3 February, 2010

Hello

Sure! That would actually a big help, and I’ll be more than happy to pass all information on to my fellow Age of Sail friends.

Thanks a lot!

Molly


Leave a comment